Boomer!

When I saw “I Want to Thank My Cats” as the title for today’s DAILY PROMPT, I was really excited. I have some great cat photos to share. But, then I read on, and saw that for photographers, the prompt was “VICTORY”. I knew at once what picture I’d share today…but golly gee, I wish it had been the cats!

Anyway, here’s “Boomer”.

MVP of the "Lady Tigers"

MVP of the “Lady Tigers”

She’s one of our daughters, and despite being only 5’4″ tall, she was a very good basketball player. She began playing when she was about 9 or thereabouts, played AAU ball for many years, played also in a city-sponsored league, went on to become MVP of her high-school team in her senior year, then attended college on a full-ride basketball scholarship.  (Hey, as her Mom, I’m allowed to brag.)  During her college career, she played in 3 national NAIA tournaments, twice as a player, and once as a player/coach. The first year, the team went to the “Sweet 16”, the following year they made the “Elite 8”, and in her last year, yes, they got to the “Final 4”.

Now, that was exciting!

 

 

Today, “Boomer” is a para-professional for an elementary school, working with special needs children. She doesn’t spend much time on the court now, but as a result of her years in sports, she’s demonstrated again and again what it means to be a true “team player”. We’re proud of her, both for her illustrious “career” in basketball and for the outstanding young woman she’s become.

  1. Another sunny day | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. Logs | Agrifun.com
  3. Bosch? Tefal? Rowenta? Braun? | Bright Moments Catcher
  4. Rural Russia. Windy | Bright Moments Catcher
  5. Rural Toilet | Bright Moments Catcher
  6. It’s good to stay at home | Bright Moments Catcher
  7. Abacus. Testing Nokia Asha 210 Camera | Bright Moments Catcher
  8. Follow your way | Agrifun.com
  9. Wash me! | Bright Moments Catcher
  10. Field flowers | Bright Moments Catcher
  11. Realisation Dream (Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats) | Amelie Lockhart
  12. Daily Prompt: | Under the Monkey Tree
  13. Speechless [Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats] | unknowinglee
  14. Headless Horseman’s Victory | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  15. Daily Prompt-Writing Will Help Me Win | readingwithafeather
  16. I’m so honored | Right Down My Alley
  17. I’d Like to Thank My Cats | Geek Ergo Sum
  18. Cygnets (Daily Prompt: Victory) | photo potpourri
  19. DP Challenge: Victory; the Water Villages of Ha Long Bay, VN | Travels and Trifles
  20. Daily Prompt:I’d like to Thank My Cats | Motherhood and Beyond
  21. I’d like to thank… | thoughtsofrkh